I’ve heard “Dancing On my Own” far too many times

This song irks me.  It’s the kind of song that’ll get me to leave the dance floor to kill time by going for a wee.

It’s just a tad too overplayed.  So now I’m over-analysing its lyrics.  And this is the result:

I’m in the corner, watching you kiss her, ohh

That’s feckin’ weird, girl.

I’m right over here, why can’t you see me, ohh

1.  ‘Cause you’re in the corner.

2. ‘Cause they’re shifting the face off some young wan.  Bit preoccupied like.

I’m giving it my all

You’re legit just standing in the corner creeping.  Quite forlornly at that.

but I’m not the girl you’re taking home, ooo

‘Ooh’ all you like, you’d be right.

I keep dancing on my own

I mean, that’s sad, but also fairly admirable.  Work it.

I’m just gonna dance all night

Yaaaaas, slay.

I’m all messed up, I’m so out of line

Mad one to be fair, jivin’ away.

Stilettos and broken bottles

That escalated…

I’m in the corner, watching you kiss her, ohh
I’m right over here, why can’t you see me, ohh
I’m giving it my all, but I’m not the girl you’re taking home, ooo
I keep dancing on my own
I keep dancing on my own

Come on now hun, we’ve been through this.  Shtop yer nonsense.  Just get away from there.  Go out.  Live your life.

So far away but still so near
The lights go on, the music dies
But you don’t see me standing here
I just came to say goodbye

A tragedy Shakespeare himself couldn’t have written.  Wait, you just came to say goodbye?  Could you have literally picked any worse time?  Sounds like you’re in a club like, tunes blaring.  There’s no real room for chit-chat there like.  You knew that.  Yet you went anyway.  You big silly.  Move on hey.

Leave a Reply

